≡ Menu

Hollywood Blue Flames – Road To Rio (2-CD set) (2006) 320Lossless

Artist:Hollywood Blue Flames
title:Road To Rio
Year Of Release:2006
Label:Delta Groove
Genre:Blues, West Coast Blues, Jump Blues
Quality:Mp3 320 / Flac (image, .cue, log)
Total Time:54:35 + 61:54
Total Size:332/795 Mb (covers)
WebSite:Yesterday, 21:04

Hollywood Blue Flames – Road To Rio (2-CD set) (2006) 320Lossless
14 Days Free Access to USENET!
Free 300 GB with Full DSL-Broadband Speed!
CD 1 – The Hollywood Blue Flames – Road To Rio
01. Road To Rio (3:46)
02. Everybody’s Blues (2:44)
03. Coffee Grindin’ Man (3:12)
04. Steady Rollin’ (4:02)
05. Long Black Cadillac (3:53)
06. Gumbo Grinder (3:04)
07. Gone Away (2:52)
08. 3rd Degree Burn (4:19)
09. Let’s Rock A While (4:38)
10. Dr. Blake’s Boogie (2:39)
11. Black Chili Pepper (3:41)
12. Sharpest Man In Town (3:19)
Bonus tracks:
13. Junior’s Boogie Rocket (2:24)
14. Let Me Love You (6:16)
15. Honeydripper (3:44)
CD 2 – The Hollywood Fats Band – Larger Than Life
01. Fats Fries One (3:57)
02. Nasty Boogie Woogie (5:01)
03. Baby Let’s Play House (4:43)
04. Side Tracked (4:07)
05. Kidney Stew (4:00)
06. Cleanhead Blues (5:19)
07. Shake Rattle’n Roll (6:46)
08. Rockihitis (3:41)
09. This Little Voice (3:37)
10. Love For Sale (8:15)
11. Boogie Woogie Blues (6:52)
12. Motel Time (5:37)
The Hollywood Blue Flames emerged from the smoldering embers of The Hollywood Fats Band, arguably the best young blues band to come out of the 1970s, led by guitar phenomenon Michael ‘Hollywood Fats’ Mann. Along with bassist Larry Taylor (fresh from Canned Heat), drummer Richard Innes (ex-Rod Piazza), Lloyd Glenn protege Fred Kaplan on piano, and featuring the multi-talented Al Blake on harmonica and vocals, Hollywood Fats almost single-handedly ignited a traditional blues revival that still echoes loudly to this day. Whenever you hear the warm retro sounds of classic Chicago blues coupled with a swinging rhythm section and tasty-but-nasty guitar, you’re hearing the legacy of The Hollywood Fats Band. Sadly, Fats passed away unexpectedly in 1986, and the band members all went on to other successful musical ventures.
Their 2005 reunion release ‘Soul Sanctuary’ on Delta Groove – with acclaimed young blues guitarist Kirk Fletcher ably filling the shoes of Fats – earned universal rave reviews. Their new Delta Groove release ‘Road To Rio’ picks up without skipping a beat, and includes several very welcome extras: two previously un-recorded songs co-written by Hollywood Fats and Al Blake that point in a roots-rock direction the band was just beginning to explore before Fats’ untimely passing; collaborations with fellow West Coast blues guitar pioneer Junior Watson, and Fabulous Thunderbirds frontman Kim Wilson; and an entire CD of previously un-released vintage live performances by Hollywood Fats in his prime, including guest appearances by Eddie ‘Cleanhead’ Vinson, and legendary blues shouter Roy Brown!
The Hollywood Blue Flames / Hollywood Fats Band music contained on ‘Road To Rio’ and ‘Larger Than Life’ stands on its own as some of the most enjoyable blues and roots music to be released in recent memory, but with the inclusion of the previously unheard live recordings, it’s also an important and historic document of musical geniuses whose likes we will not see again.
Hollywood Blue Flames – Road To Rio (2-CD set) (2006) 320/Lossless




This Article Was Written By


Subscribe to our email ...

Leave a Comment